Camo + Valentino? Yes!

Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013

Got to hand it to Valentino.

I haven’t seen this kind of brand rebirth since Tom Ford took over Gucci in 1994. But I am absolutely smitten with the direction the brand has been moving in for the last few seasons. Not to discount the unquestionable talent of visionary Valentino Garavani, but sometimes new blood is just what a fashion label needs to kick it into the 21st century.

For spring 2013, camouflage is a new theme for both the men’s and women’s ready-to-wear collections. According to my source at Valentino:

“The camouflage technique is obtained from laser-cut leather or fabric, heat sealed and then printed for a mimetic army effect.”

Here’s a little sample:

Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013 Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013 Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013 Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013 Valentino camouflage accessories for spring 2013

I love it. Do you?

PS: Be sure to check back next week. Livestreaming the Valentino men’s fall 2013 collection from Paris!

13 responses to “Camo + Valentino? Yes!”

    • Definitely unexpected for Valentino, but a lot of what is coming from the house is unexpected. I like the new direction. The grand gowns are still there, but I feel there is more for the under-50 set now.

      Like

  1. I have to agree with Heather, I definitely would not associate this style with Valentino at all. It should be interesting to see if Camo comes back as a trend since it has been awhile 🙂

    Like

    • I think camo was strong last year…but with bloggers, not the big design houses. I’ll be curious as well to see if it spreads across to other designers/brands.

      Like

  2. Camo is huge right now especially in Topshop, a lot of students are wearing it combined in a grungy sort of look which I’m not really a fan of. I think a pop of camo could look quite trendy but it’s quite difficult to work with. I like it and I know it’s going to be a big print for spring summer for both men and women.

    Like

  3. My favorite camo look lately has been slouchy, almost boyfriend jeans, pants on women with a killer pair of heels. I can’t wait to see how Valentino brings new life to the trend.

    Like

Leave a comment